LAMDA Exams can be taken at 5 levels:

  • Entry Level

  • Level 1: Grades 1,2,3

  • Level 2: Grades 4,5

  • Level 3: Grades 6,7,8 (Bronze, Silver and Gold)

  • Diploma (PCertLAM)

Students will be credited with a grade: Pass, Merit or Distinction.

LAMDA – which stands for London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art is one of the UK’s leading and oldest drama schools. The drama school was founded in 1861 with acting examinations being offered for over 130 years.

The examinations are globally recognised and often considered to be the most preferred acting examinations to young people in the world.

All LAMDA exams have official accreditation as part of the National Qualifications & Credit Framework (QCF).

Graduates of LAMDA drama school include Benedict Cumberbatch, Jim Broadbent, Dominic Cooper & Ruth Wilson.

UCAS tariff points are also awarded for Level 3 LAMDA qualifications and above based on performance.

The UCAS tariff points for LAMDA qualification are shown below with traditional AS and A levels also shown for reference.

LAMDA Grade 6 LAMDA Grade 7 LAMDA Grade 8 LAMDA PCertLAM UCAS Points AS Level A Level
120 A
100 B
D 90
M 80 C
D 65
M P 60 A D
D 55
M 50 B
P 45
D 40 C E
M P 35
30 D
P 20 E

The Level 3 exams are recognised within the UCAS Tariff as a means to obtain points for entry to University and Higher Education.

Book a LAMDA lesson today!

Find out more